Review: MAC Hey, Sailor! Lipstick in Sail La Vie and Etude House Mini Haul

Hello my dears! I am back! After such a long time, I’ve been busy and it has been raining non stop here so I couldn’t take photos.

Anyway, I’ve never tried MAC before, for some reason I just didn’t buy any of their products but I do know that everyone raves about them. My sister asked me if I wanted to have her friend buy some in the US so I said why not and of course, me being me, I just had to have a bright color for my first MAC lipstick.

Onto the review.

From their website:

Colour plus texture for the lips. Stands out on the runway. Simmers on the street…or at sea! Packaged in blue and white stripes, it’s a match to everything Hey, Sailor! Limited edition.

Image

Can I just say how pretty the packaging is? I really like the blue and white stripes.

Image

Image

ImageSail La Vie

So I got the shade Sail La Vie which is a vibrant red-orange shade that’s perfect for summer or for a pop of color.This is a satin finish and I find it to be creamy, long lasting, and very pigmented and it applies like a dream! I also really like it because it doesn’t have shimmer. (I’m not a fan of shimmery lipsticks).

Let me tell you, the first time I tried it, it ruined all other lipsticks for me, like I said, it applies like a dream!

Scent wise, it smells like your typical lipstick but it’s not too strong.

Image

Without and with Sail La Vie.

As you can see, my lips are deathly pale, that’s why I prefer brighter colors on my lips as opposed to nudes (though I really like them!)

I have no photo of my full face with the lipstick because I’m not going out today and it’s pointless to wear makeup at home, plus I haven’t gotten any sleep yet, I was up all night playing Tekken at a friend’s house.

Overall:

  • Great product
  • Long lasting
  • Pigmented
  • Applies easily
  • Pretty packaging
  • You get your money’s worth

Sadly, Hey, Sailor! is a summer collection and the products are limited edition, but I would definitely buy some more MAC products just because this lipstick really wowed me.

***

So I had dinner with my friends last night, and before we all went to my friend’s place, us girls decided to do a little shopping at Etude House. We didn’t have much time because the mall was already closing.

Image

I got an eyebrow brush, Surprise Essence Concealer, Dear Darling Tint and 55 Kissful Tint Chou. I also got a freebie pencil for reaching a certain amount on my purchase.

I’m so annoyed that I grabbed the wrong shade of the Kissful Tint Chou, I was supposed to get #1 but I grabbed #4 by accident!I realized it AFTER I opened the lip tint. It’s a pretty shade, but I already have it.

I’ll probably review the concealer and dear darling tint when I have time since I haven’t tried it before.

Hope everybody’s doing well!

Ciao loves!

Leave a Reply

