Review: E.L.F. Studio Tinted Moisturizer in Porcelain

I’ve been on an e.l.f. roll these past few weeks, I’ve bought a couple of items from their studio  line and one from their essential line as well.

One gripe I have about e.l.f. is that their products here are extremely limited! Some of the products I want to try isn’t available locally 😦 But anyway, I think e.l.f. is great if you want to try something new and affordable; granted, some of their products are hit or miss,  but for its price? You can’t really complain.

I was in search of a new foundation that was lighter than my HG foundation (Revlon Colorstay!) and I figured that I’d be better off buying a tinted moisturizer. I remember TheMakeupChair mentioning something about e.l.f.’s tinted moisturizers and I figured that I’d give it a try.

ImageIt says:

“Tinted Moisturizer SPF20  with skin enhancing Aloe, Cucumber and Vitamins A, C & E”

And it claims that Porcelain is

for very fair skin tones with yellow undertones

Image

I initially thought that Porcelain would be too light for me, but it turns out to be just right. It blends well onto my face and the SPF20 is a nice additional touch to this product.

ImageI finally found a tinted moisturizer with the correct undertone!

It comes in a tube packaging and that is something that I am happy about it, because I get to control how much product I want to use, plus, it’s hygienic, no dipping your hand in jars, no spilling or accidentally pouring out too much product.

Image

It is extremely light and helps even out my skin tone. It doesn’t cover marks or spots but I’m totally fine with it. I know I run a “beauty blog” but I don’t like wearing too much makeup on a daily basis, heck, I don’t even bother with retouching my makeup on most days.

I use this tinted moisturizer on a daily basis simply because it’s a moisturizer (duh!), it has SPF20, and it evens out my skin tone. However, I find that after an hour or two, I tend to get shiny, even after using a powder after applying this. I don’t know if it’s because of the heat or humidity or if my face is just crazy oily.

I’m not extremely happy with this product. The first time I used it, I had the urge to apply some more moisturizer on my face. I have weird combination, sensitive skin, my skin needs the moisture or else it looks dry and flaky plus I work in an air conditioned environment which can really dry out the skin. I like using water based moisturizers, but I haven’t really found an HG moisturizer yet. I digress, but yes, I feel that it isn’t that moisturizing.

Overall:

  • Cheap, retails for Php249.75 or $3
  • It has SPF20
  • Offers lightweight coverage
  • It isn’t too moisturizing though
  • Widely available (Watson’s, SM Department Stores, Landmark)
  • Great for people with yellow undertones
  • Staying power isn’t good

Would I repurchase? Definitely not. I’ll just be using up this tube and off I go to find a new tinted moisturizer.

Leave a Reply

