Review: Etude House Oh! M’ Eye Lash Curling

Hello guys! I am back with the mascara review I promised. It’s late but life happened, and for some strange reason, I don’t really have the urge to turn on my laptop when I’m at home. It’s probably because I use a computer at the office, and the thought facing it again after being in front of it for more than 40 hours per week is daunting. I don’t know really know how to explain it haha.

Anyway, enough rambling, like I said, I’m back with a mascara review and today I will be reviewing Etude House’s Oh! M’ Eye Lash in Curling.

Image

Very simple packaging

Image

 

So onto the review, the packaging is very simple which seems a little unusual for Etude, I used to have their Vitcara and it’s packaging was really nice.

The brush itself is straight, no curves or anything to help your lashes curl. Although the end is a little bit tapered, good for reaching into the corners.

Formula wise, this is a problem for me. It’s a wet formula and I find that it weighs down my lashes and I have no idea if this is waterproof, it just says “4 Curling” on the package. I prefer a drier formula and waterproof mascaras, simply because they hold up curls better.

ImageLashes curled, no mascara

I have stick straight lashes that don’t hold curls very well. It frustrates me to no end because I see YouTube Beauty Gurus and they have lashes that curl beautifully and it seems that their lashes holds curls very well, and it looks absolutely gorgeous with mascara. How many “ands” did I use? Haha.

Moving on, I’m on the look out for my HG mascara, one that would hold curls well and give a good amount of volume as well.

Image

If you’ll notice, the curls have started to fall.

Can you feel my frustration yet? Haha! I know some people curl their lashes AFTER applyig mascara, but please, please, please ladies, do not do that! You’re only damaging your lashes and it doesn’t look good either because your lashes clump up. However, I watched one of Wayne’s videos (link), and in that video, he said that it is okay to curl your lashes after applying mascara, provided that you apply only a tiny amount on your lashes. But still, you risk pulling out some of your lashes.

ImageTwo coats of mascara

And here we are ladies and gents, after two coats, the curls are still there but they have significantly fallen. I think it was weighed down by the formula.

Image

 

Can you see where it has started to flake? On my right eye in the photo (left eye IRL)

It’s such a shame as well because wear time is good! I wore this at 6:48AM, I got home at 8:35PM, and it has only started to flake! That was around 14 hours of wear, such a shame really. Although my lashes still have some curl to them, I’m not exactly satisfied with it. 

I just really want curled lashes because I have small eyes and curled lashes really helps open up the eyes.

Overall:

  • Incredibly long lasting
  • Doesn’t flake and smudge
  • Lasts all day
  • Can weigh down lashes
  • Not sure if waterproof
  • Formula is wet (depends upon you if that’s a pro or con)
  • Cheap, this retails for less than Php300/$7-$8
  • Good product

I think this is a good product if your lashes holds curls well, I say give it a try since products work differently for everyone, it really is a shame that this doesn’t work well for me and I think that this isn’t waterproof since I can wash it off with soap and water.

Would I repurchase? Probably not.

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Etude House Oh! M’ Eye Lash Curling

  1. I was thinking about try this along with their volume formula as the second coat (or the other way around). I don’t usually have problems with wetter Western mascaras, but I do prefer a dry formula to avoid the kind of droop you experienced. Don’t EVER try the Revlon ‘Revlon Grow Luscious’ in waterproof. I don’t even know why I tried it as I don’t think Revlon can make a mascara to save their lives. I swear my upper eyelashes were so confused by half-way through the day that they thought they were my lower lashes! Horrible! I could see my lash line along the top of my eyes!

    I’m guessing that the ‘Oh My Lash’ range is not waterproof (since there’s a topcoat in the range which I’d interpret as being for waterproofing).

    What a pity. I really hate having to pay ridiculous amounts of money on mascaras I have to throw out in 3 months after opening, so thank you so much for your review. Sigh. I guess we all have to keep experimenting & sharing our experiences to help each other out to avoid wasting our money & being disappointed… particularly disappointing since, in terms of wear, it held up well.

    Fingers crossed on our next mascara purchases!

    P.S. I have to comment on how pretty you are. Your eyes are huge and absolutely amazing!

    • I have tried several Etude House Mascaras and I found that I truly did not like how it made my lashes look. I’m sorry that you had a horrible experience with the Revlon Grow Luscious mascara, but I find that the Revlon Photoready 3D Volume Mascara does an excellent job in lengthening the lashes, volumizing? Not so much. I used that mascara along with Maybelline’s Volume Express Turbo Boost Mascara and got compliments on it, a former boss even thought that I was wearing false lashes! 🙂

      Finding the right mascara can get expensive, the best we can do is share our experiences and our opinions regarding the ones that we do try out. I think Maybelline does some good mascaras, I prefer their waterproof formulas though, so it might be worth a try for you 🙂

      Thank you for the compliment 🙂

      • Actually, I have tried the Photoready 3D Volume Mascara. Initially, I got the non-waterproof version as a freebie & thought I’d give it a try out of interest. I can only wear waterproof (at least good water-resistant) mascaras as I had a tumour in my left eye surgically removed in my mid-40’s… which took the lower inside corner tearduct with it, so I have dribble-eye issues. I was surprised how impressed I was with it, although I had to use a primer for volume. I thought I’d try the waterproof version, expecting it to be the poor relation that waterproof versions usually are. Nope, it turned out to be very, very good (love the wand for separation and great no-clumping)! Unfortunately, after a few days I became highly aware of itchiness along the lash line, so I started switching mascaras in between uses & realised that there’s something in the waterproof formula that irritates my skin.

        Sad. I’ve never had a reaction to any mascara in my 40 years of being a makeupaholic. Not even using a primer or a volumising mascara as a base succeeded to work as a barrier.

        I’ve tried just about every mascara on the market. The only one I feel in love with was L’Oreal Shocking Volume (waterproof) which was discontinued a few years ago. In the meantime, Imju’s Dejavu Fiberwig Lash Knockout is fairly much my staple, although on windy days when my eye starts watering heavily it starts coming away in tubes.

        The quest goes on. I haven’t been happy with Kiss Me Heroine waterproof mascaras & have given Fairy Drops the heave-ho. What are Fairy Drops thinking with those crazy brushes? Their formulas are great, but the brush just distributes the product unevenly. Some days it works well, but on other days I end up with some lashes trying to crawl over my eyebrows! I just want a mascara that I don’t feel nervous about using because I can’t predict whether it’ll do what it’s supposed to. Canmake Agebuto is next on the list. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

