Review: Maybelline Colorshow Lipsticks

Hey everyone! Today I will be reviewing the Maybelline Colorshow Lipsticks! I think these are fairly new since I haven’t seen any review on these online. I saw these at the drugstore while I was looking for an eyebrow pencil, I ended up buying these and a couple more brushes and left the store with 3 new lipsticks, a bunch of brushes but without an eyebrow pencil :))

Image

 

To be honest, I am not a big fan of the packaging, the plastic gets easily scratched so right now, mine looks like I’ve had it for a couple of months and it’s only been in my makeup bag for a week! I got one color in nude, pink and plum.

 

Image

 

You have to admit, the names are pretty cute.

Image

 

(L-R) Chic Peach, Crushed Candy and Sweet Orchid

Lipsticks. I get so excited buying and trying out new lipsticks. Am I the only one who gets like that? :)) Anyway, these lipsticks smell amazing, they smell like candy! It was a pleasant surprise when I took a sniff and then I couldn’t stop smelling them, they seriously smell so good!

These are nicely pigmented, the only let down was Crushed Candy , I was expecting it to be a deep, bright fuchsia. Don’t get me wrong, the color still looks gorgeous on the lips, but it was more of a light, nude-y pink, rather than a fuchsia.

Image

 

If you’ll notice on the swatches, they have a ton of shimmer in them, bordering on looking frosty on the lips, if you apply too much. I wish they held back a bit on the shimmer since the colors look absolutely lovely. My favorite, despite being a let down at first, is Crushed Candy, the color looks nice on my lips. After a couple of hours, it kind of dries into a stain which is good.

If you’re going to use this, make sure your lips are hydrated since the shimmer can emphasize cracks and lines on your lips.

I got this at Php165 / $4 a pop, but it was a “launching” price. I guess the regular price would be around Php350+ / $7+ which is the norm around here.

Overall:

  • Lovely pigmented colors
  • Smells like candy
  • Has a ton of shimmer (bordering frosty 😦 )
  • Packaging could be better

If you’re a big fan of lipsticks, I suggest that you try it out while its cheap, you’ve nothing to lose and you may find a shade that you will absolutely fall in love with.

 

 

Leave a Reply

