Hair Care Routine + Greasy Hair Tips

Hello everyone! Today, I will be sharing with you, my hair care routine. I’m very low maintenance about my hair, I’m a wash and go kind of girl but when I bleached my hair a few years ago, my hair got damaged. Not too damaged, but it was definitely drier than it was before. That was the time I got a little particular about my hair.

I have thick hair which is such a pain in the ass, especially since I live in a tropical country. It’s hot and humid, and my hair just makes me feel icky and sweaty.

Now, I used to wash my hair everyday and that dried it out even more, even if I used conditioner + it seemed like my hair was falling out since I had a LOT more hair fall. But then, I started washing it every other day until I could go 2 – 3 days in between washes. It has made my hair that much healthier, it has a lot more shine to it, it’s softer and there’s less fall out and split ends as well.

It’s healthier to not wash the hair everyday so that the natural oils in your hair can work it’s magic.  Initially, your scalp/hair will be oily when you’re starting to not wash it. This is because your scalp is used to producing so much oil, since you tend to strip the natural oils when you wash it everyday.

Okay, onto my routine and greasy hair tips.

P1100273

 

(L-R) Herbal Essences Long Term Relationship Shampoo, Herbal Essences Long Term Relationship Conditioner, Lucido L – Styling Milk <Straight> and Lucido – L Treatment Oil <Straight>

Like I mentioned earlier, I don’t wash my hair everyday. On the days that I wash it, these are the products I use:

Herbal Essences Long Term Relationship Shampoo – I’m in love with the smell of this shampoo (and conditioner!). It smells sweet but it’s not overpowering. When I shampoo my hair, I start from my neck going up, I find that this helps give volume to the hair.

Herbal Essences Long Term Relationship Conditioner – After washing my hair, I apply conditioner on my hair. I apply conditioner from my ears to the ends of my hair. I don’t apply and to my roots because that just makes your scalp greasy plus it could weigh down the hair. I leave it on for 5 minutes or longer.

Lucido – L Treatment Oil <Straight> – Once I’m out of the shower, I wrap my hair around my towel while I finish putting on my makeup. Once my makeup is done, I remove my hair from my towel and apply 1-2 pimps of the treatment oil to the ends of my hair and whatever is left on my hands, I lightly apply to the top of my hair. And then I leave my hair be.

Lucido – L Styling Milk <Straight> – On the rare occasion that I would want to blow dry my hair or straighten it, I apply this styling milk/heat protectant to the ends of may hair.

I try to go 2-3 days before washing my hair. On day 2, I just brush my hair with a boar bristle brush to distribute the oils in my scalp. Day 3? I just put my hair up in a bun or tie it into a ponytail since my hair is currently too short for braids or I’d just put some baby powder on my scalp and rub it in to help absorb the oils. For day 4, if I’m going to be stuck at home, I won’t wash my hair yet but if I’m going out, I will wash it again.

Do note that it may take two weeks or longer before your scalp stops producing too much oil 🙂 Also, before anyone thinks that I don’t shower everyday, I just put my hair up in a clip or a bun or in a shower cap on days when I don’t wash it.

I hope that this has helped some of you. If you have other tips or tricks for me, do let me know.

Byeeee!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

